Skip to main content

Lviv region is one of the self-governing regions of Ukraine, located in the western part of the country near the border with Poland. It is the central part of the historical region Galicia, for centuries it was part of Poland, or Austrian Empire. The capital of the region is Lviv, whose center is on the UNESCO list. A significant number of ancient wooden churches have been preserved in the region, especially the four Carpathian wooden temples, which are on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The Lviv region is mainly hilly with an average height of around 300 m. In the south, the forested Carpathians rise. The beech forests of the region are also included in the UNESCO list as part of the macro object under the name "Native beech forests of the Carpathians and other regions of Europe". The territory of the Lviv region slopes to the north towards Volhynia (the Buh river valley) and to the south-east (the Dniester valley). In the north-west, the Roztočcha upland extends into the area, the highest peak of which – the Vysokyj Zamok hill – lies in the very center of Lviv. There are deposits of oil and natural gas in the basin at the foot of the Carpathians; in the north of the region lies the Lviv-Volhynia coal basin. The Druzhba and Odesa-Brody oil pipelines meet in the city of Brody. The engineering and chemical industry and various branches of light industry, especially the food industry, are widespread.

Top political leaders:
Maksym Kozytskyi, chairman of the regional administration
Land area:
21,833 km²
Capital city:
Official website: